Yoga styles

Spain Yoga 3 1200 x 400

Gina has been practising Yoga for over 20 years. She started her journey with Iyengar Yoga in 1994 and has explored and deepened her Yoga wisdom since with Astanga (including Hot Bikram Yoga), Hatha and Vinyasa Flow styles, as well as latterly Integral Hatha, Yin and Restorative Yoga.

Since passing her Integral Hatha Yoga teaching training with distinction in 2008 at The Unity School of Yoga in Brighton Surrey, UK, she has intuited her own way of teaching Yoga (see her Top 10 tips on You Tube – Gina Hardy Yoga) developed through direct experience, which she believes is the only way to learn.

She considers herself a guide not a teacher in essence because she  says ‘You are the only teacher you need.’

Yoga styles

  1. Integral Hatha Yoga – focuses on 12 core Yoga poses (asanas) from each of the standing/seated/inversion/balancing categories. It also integrates 3 principal breath techniques (Pranayam) and focuses on meditation to relax the body and ease the mind.

  2. Yin Yoga – has the same goals any other forms of Yoga, however, it directs the stimulation of the Yoga pose deeper than the superficial muscular tissues. Yin Yoga targets the connective tissues such as ligaments and bones and even the joints of the body that normally are not exercised very much in a more active style of Yoga practise. Yin Yoga is based around mainly seated poses and you will often stay in pose for between 2-5 minutes. The aim being to invite an opening to the body and mind on a much deeper level.

  3. Restorative Yoga – the clue is in the name. Yoga poses that offer the body optimum rest and ease. These postures can be used beneficially for meditation or for gentle and natural release without effort and challenge. Restorative Yoga is good to do particularly in the nurturing seasons of Autumn and Winter and often props are used to support the body during rest.

Teaching Lineage

Gina’s Yoga lineage stems from Sri Swami Satchidananda (Sri Gurudev), an esteemed spiritual leader whose message of peace has been heard around the globe. Honoured with the Albert Schweitzer Humanitarian Award, Sri Gurudev dedicated his life to the cause of peace – both individual and universal – and to religious harmony among all people.

What is Hatha Yoga?

Hatha Yoga refers in part to a set (and sequences) of physical postures (known as asanas or poses), designed to align your skin, muscles, and bones. The poses are also designed to open the many energy channels of the body, especially the main channel, the spine, so that energy can flow freely.

Hatha is also translated as ha meaning ‘sun’ and tha meaning ‘moon.’ This refers to the balance of the masculine aspects – active/ hot /sun and the feminine aspects – receptive / cool / moon, within all of us. Hatha yoga is a path toward creating balance and uniting opposites.